M12 Studio

Members: Richard Saxton, Margo Handwerker, Peter de Kan, Matthew Fluharty, Kris Harzinski, Stuart Hyatt, Marc McCay, George Perez, Mary Welcome, Chris Sauter, Trent Segura, Kirsten Stoltz, David Wyrick

M12 is an award-winning interdisciplinary group of artists, researchers, and writers collectively based in Colorado. The group is primarily known for projects that explore the aesthetics of rural cultures and landscapes. The ever-evolving collective creates context-based art works, research projects, and education initiatives. Centered around context and place, M12 blends multiple fields through their connective aesthetic methodology. The studio allows research, fieldwork, design and construction to merge, creating a layered collection of artworks, images, publications, and artifacts. The M12 group publishes works through Last Chance Press, an in-house independent press, and Jap Sam Books in The Netherlands.